new HPPD - questions about time and medication

Hi folks - I'm new to this horrendous adventure (that's my perception of it now, at least). After doing MDMA at a music festival nearly a month ago (i had used hallucinogens sporadically for the last two years - really not often and not much - certainly no problems prior to this - this has been a shock and I had no idea this could happen otherwise I wouldn't have touched hallucinogens), I spiraled into a mixed anxious/depressive state for a couple of weeks until my psychiatrist started me on .25 mg X 2 per day of clonazepam. My mood and anxiety are better (although not at baseline - baseline was good, no history of clinically significant mental health problems), although the visual symptoms (much, much more visual snow than I ever saw before, after images, floaters, and the perception that things - particularly in the distance - are moving - I can't quite focus my eyes on things that aren't right in front of me). I find it quite distressing, although I am learning to live with it even at the one month mark. I have read a lot (scientific journals and forms on Erowid, Bluelight, and HPPD), as well as some work my John Halpern and Henry Abraham. I am dearly hoping that this will resolve or at least improve to a certain degree. I don't know why I'm posting - I guess I'm looking for some encouragement. My psychiatrist wants to try Zoloft, and I'm weary of this. Dr. Abraham said it would be fine -  but I have read others who have had their visual symptoms increase. Any feedback would be helpful! Thank you in advance.

• Upvote 6

I haven't had success at all with medication. Like you, meds stabilized my mood (or rather made me numb, more or less) but they also made the visuals a lot worse.